Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sister_k

Advice on Iris in Container - Pics

sister_k
15 years ago

Hello, this is my first post on the iris forum, and I would appreciate any advice you could provide. I am pretty new to gardening and I planted these 3 iris last fall in a rectangular planter that measures about 10-12 inches deep. They were just the kind from Home Depot (Pink Attraction -- 3 dried out looking rhizomes in a mesh bag). I didn't really know how best to plant and care for these, but they've made it through the winter!

I planted them pretty shallow as the instructions & pictures showed, but now that I know a little more about gardening in general and have read more about how irises grow, I worry they are going to be too crowded in this planter. I had them pretty heavily mulched, but I read that can promote mold/rot, so I've cleared the mulch away from each stem. My mom has so many beautiful iris at home in Maryland, but I'd hate to kill these off, as I was so excited to find some and that they lived through the winter (well, so far)! Here are three photos of the container & close ups of two of the three clumps of shoots. I have a couple of questions, if anyone can chime in. Thanks!

So, here are my questions:

1. Should I trim off the brown tips in any way?

2. Should I try to move any of these now to another container, or do you think they will be healthy in their current planting? If you have receommendations, I appreciate hearing your ideas about moving this now or later in the season, or not at all.

3. I have another package of 2 (Cherub's Smile) and one package of 3 (Before the Storm) to plant which I bought last fall. Would they do best in their own containers, or is it okay to combine them? If so, is there a particular size & depth you recommend per iris?

4. Once the shoots are up this far or further, do they need protection from freezing in the containers (I could bring them into the garage)?