Return to the Iris Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need Nursery Recommendations

Posted by TNY78 7a-East TN (My Page) on
Mon, Mar 18, 13 at 20:18

Hi, I'm an avid rose collector (I have about 600 varieties of roses) but I'm new to iris and was trying to find some reputable vendors. I guess I'm broadening my horizons :) I placed an order with Wild Iris Rows based on DG feedback, and they're in my home state so the plants won't have far to travel. What are some other vendors that you use?

Also, I noticed they ship durinf the hottest months (opposite of roses); do you plant them when they arrive or wait until fall?

Sorry if this is a reptative thread. I looked back through a few pages of posts and didn't see anything. I'll repay the favor is you need any rose advice :)

Tammy

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need Nursery Recommendations

You should plant them as soon as they arrive.
Here is a list of reputable vendors from the American Iris Society (link).

Here is a link that might be useful: Commercial Directory

o

• Posted by chadinlg zone 9%3B Sunset 15 (My Page) on
    Wed, Mar 20, 13 at 14:35

Tammy, nurseries will ship when the time has come to dig in their location. You can specify a later ship date, and you may get freshly dug rhizomes, or not, or they may run out of the variety you ordered.
Walter Moore has promoted a method for handling the 'I got iris shipped when it was too hot to re-plant" situation. Basically you pot up the rhizomes into 4" pots with potting mix and place them outside in the shade - watering frequently. When the day temps are in the 80's or less with temperate weather in the future it is safe to plant them out. Planting Rhizomes when it is over 90 -100 in full sun may lead to them rotting before they get growing. If you have to plant under these conditions - make some kind of shade - even a shingle stuck into the ground on the South side is helpful.

o

• Posted by TNY78 7a-East TN (My Page) on
    Thu, Mar 21, 13 at 9:47