Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shannon2009

iris creating

shannon2009
15 years ago

Thanks for the info.

I have a peach iris, that has already bloomed Beverly Sills(?) that has some very warped foliage, its crinkled and bent--the flower was fine but shorter than last year. Any ideas as to what can cause this?

I am totally new to this and just wondered what would happen if I tweaked them a bit myself. I'm not a breeder and don't have the time, space, or attention to detail required to do it seriously, but I know I'll dabble a bit.

I just got my Swerti this year and am waiting impatiently for it to bloom. Its not frilly but supposedly smells great so we'll see. Most of mine are the fragrant ones. A friend has one that smells heavenly, "just a purple iris" is what she calls it, and its ready to divide this year so I can't wait to get some of those in the fall. Most of the fragrant ones seems to be purple or blue, is that an accurate observation or are there pinks, reds, & bicolours that smell also?

Comment (1)

• iris_gal
    15 years ago

Here's an old thread on fragrance. Your warped foliage could be due to temperatures or Round-Up drift.

Fragrant Irises - The List
    Posted by Phantomfyre z5b NE Ohio (My Page) on Mon, May 17, 04 at 7:59

The question of which irises are fragrant is often asked, so it has been suggested that we have an ongoing Fragrance thread that is periodically bumped to the top of the forum, and that can be continually added to as we find varieties to add.

A note: If you are an AIS member, there is a Fragrance Robin. To join, contact the Robin Chairperson, listed in the front of your AIS Bulletins.

Many irises are fragrant to some extent, but some are especially so. So, as your irises bloom, please post your fragrant varieties here.

CELESTE (Lemón 1858)
    CREATIVE STITCHERY - like a birthday cake
    DAREDEVIL
    Death By Chocolate an SDB carried by SnowPeak.
    DEVIL'S LAKE very fragrant
    EASTER SONG