Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tammy_owens9081478

Iris Colors

Tammy Owens
12 years ago

This is my first year with blooming Iris's. I bought them last year and they bloomed. The problem is, they aren't what I expected. I purchased them because I thought they would be blue and white, but they have bloomed a more lavender and white. Did I receive the wrong iris's or is there no true light blue iris's?

Thank you, Tammy.

Comments (13)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    12 years ago

blue has no standard ... IMHO ...

its one color at dawn .. another at noon .. and the best color is usually at dusk.. when the sky gets pink ... as pink.. on the color wheel is opposite.. they intensify each other ...

then they are another blue on a cloudy day.. partly cloudy.. etc ...

i knew this long ago.. but never really came to appreciate it .. until the digital camera .. and taking multiple pix ...

then there is bringing one in the house.. and comparing fluorescent versus regular light etc ...

but i gotta tell you.. when it all boils down.. there are few blue flowers.. of any kind.. that are truly blue... i have been ripped off so many times... by catalog pix.. that i cant even begin to count ...

anyway.. the ONLY way to get.. what you really want.. is to shop blues in person.. in flowering season ... IMHO ...

ken

• Nancy
    12 years ago