Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wvchiarian

Can you plant an iris in a whiskey barrel?

wvchiarian
9 years ago

I have seen posts on planting iris in containers but I was wondering if anyone has used a whiskey barrel and planted just one or two iris in it. I am new to this, my grandmother grew iris for years and recently died so I want to continue on her tradition of her favorite flower but I don't have my own house to build a flower garden so I was wondering if it would be possible to use a whiskey barrel and have a successful growth of a bearded iris. Any hints and tips would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Comments (9)

• iris_gal
    9 years ago

First drink all the whiskey. Then drill holes in the bottom. Fill with good dirt. Or 1/3 bad dirt and 2/3 potting soil. A nice draining friable mixture is what you're after. Mix in some bonemeal if you have it. Plant the bearded with the top part of its rhizome showing. Water in thoroughly to settle the soil.

An excellent choice if it is 18+ inches deep and at least 12 inches diameter. Then I would use 1 tall bearded. What are the barrel's measurements?

The biggest detriment to container planting for beardeds is their determination to travel. When they're butting up against the edges you must replant and often they sulk for a year. Steer clear of any that are labeled as vigorous. IB's (intermediates) are as beautiful and may take longer to overrun their space. Full sun of course. Let the top 4 inches of soil dry before watering again. They do not like moist soil. A more elegant flower does not exist for me.

• wvchiarian
    Original Author
    9 years ago