Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aseedisapromise

visited BlueJ iris

aseedisapromise
11 years ago

We went to Denver to visit DH's parents, and Blue J iris was sort of on the way, so we stopped on the way home. They aren't set up with fancy presentation gardens, but they have a lot of iris with name tags you can see in the flesh. I am kind of new at really thinking about the iris I plant, and we decided to do this on the fly, so I really wasn't prepared to ask good questions of Mr. Jedlicka when I spoke to him, or even able to really remember the names of many iris I really wanted to check out. Still, I highly recommend to all to go somewhere where you can see named iris bloom, because it is really easier to tell what you are looking at and what you are purchasing that way. A lot of iris seemed to be not so washed out as they look in photos, and you could compare the size of blooms, and how they grow. It was a cloudy day, so the colors really looked rich. I could really see which iris had the sturdy stalks, as it is a very windy place out in the middle of nowhere on the plains, with a railroad overpass and a trailer court for neighbors. But they can really grow iris! The wind was really blowing, but the presentation garden is surrounded with spruce trees so it was a little quieter than the area where they had the main growing beds and their seedlings. Mr. Jedlicka told me that he wasn't going to get much hybridizing done this year, as his daughter helps him to do it, and she isn't arriving until after her kids are out of school. All his iris, like mine, are perversely blooming three weeks ahead of their usual time, so it is a hard year.

Here is a link that might be useful: BjIris

Comments (5)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

and Blue J iris was sort of on the way

===>> yeah.. i have been on trips like this .. and all of a sudden.. i am 100 miles off track.. lol ...

can you define 'sort of' .. lol ...