Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fearlessem

help with diagnosis?

fearlessem
13 years ago

Hi folks --

I'm new to iris growing (planted them two or three summers ago for the first time)... Last year I actually had lots of beautiful blooms, but this year, something's going on. I've read up on iris problems, but I'm still confused. Don't think this is rot, as I don't have any smell or rotting leaves... I dug up one plant and didn't find any borers (but maybe its to early to see them?), though there was what looked like a hole and a rotten part that must have happened last year... Yet the clumps are barely blooming, many of the stalks I have are stunted, some of the leaves are yellowing, and the fans are leaning over rather than standing straight up. I've attached two photos...

Any thoughts on what's going on? I did make the mistake of mulching last winter, which I now know is a mistake... Could that be the issue?

Many thanks in advance for your help...

Emily

Comments (6)

• iris_gal
    13 years ago

When healthy strong rhizomes are sent they have hidden buds inside. So bloom occurs nicely. If they are not a vigorous variety it may take 2 years for more flower buds to form.

Typical for them to look this way during summer.

• Nancy
    13 years ago

I agree with iris gal. Are they still in mulch? I leave just a bit of the rhizome above the soil. If there is a bit of mulch on top, I'd try to pull it off. A lot of mine are getting the brown spots, they will look much worse by July. Seeing holes doesn't necessarily mean borers, the large roots of the iris can naturally die off & leave the holes.

• jsky
    13 years ago

If this is only one year's growth or two, it's very prolific. Will need alot of thinning out. I usually plant mine 20-24" apart. That gives them plenty of space to multiply. Also once the rhizome has produced a stalk, that rhizome won't produce another one. So it's DONE!