Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
westy1941

Done Lurking

Carole Westgaard
14 years ago

I'm insane over the Iris I purchased from Schreiner's a couple of years ago. Some of the blooms are seven or eight inches across and people can't believe it when they see them. But I only have a few for lack of space. I have an area that is a 45 degree slope that is about 5 feet from top to bottom and ten feet wide but I am wondering if they will 'slide' because of the slope or possibly not stand up straight? Anyone else plant on a slope? I can't make tiers because of tree roots that are less than a foot underground - they are choking the hostas that are there. That's one reason I thought it might be good for Iris because the roots don't go that deep - I don't think!

Also - what's a good way to 'hide' the foliage once the TOO SHORT bloom season ends. Or isn't there anything that will work without detriment?

Thanks for any ideas.

Westy

Comments (7)

• madeyna
    14 years ago

I had mine on a slope for a couple of years and moved them because of lack of sunlight. They did well on the slope but I did have to use a landscape fabric stake to stake down a few that wanted to fall over the first year they bloomed. I used the stakes that look like a big staple.

• regattagirl
    14 years ago

I put iris on a slope with trees in my guy's yard because it's the only option. Planted last September and blooming now. Seem to be holding steady and not falling but they are only "old fashioned" type, I think.

Because the slope faces North, I think they are behind a full zone and I'm expecting less of a show per plant because of the shade.

I was very surprised to get blooms at all this year because I knew not to plant them deep but still might have been too deep. Now I know better. Plant 'em high!

• hosenemesis
    14 years ago

I'd plant them there. It's hard to interplant with irises because if another plant grows over the rhizome it will rot.