Return to the Iris Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What is the best mulch for Bearded Iris?

Posted by terry-upstate-ny 5 (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 14, 10 at 4:55

I have been planting Bearded Irises for several years, but I usually do not use a mulch because I thought that the rhizome is not supposed to be covered. Is it ok to cover the rhizome with a mulch? My irises don't bloom every year, some have not blooomed at all although they have been growing for a couple of years.
Terry

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What is the best mulch for Bearded Iris?

on my pure yellow mineral sand.. with incredibly high drainage.. and otherwise bone dry ..

i have no problem with wood chips ... pretty heavy also ..

since i grow the iris in the conifer beds ... they get no supplemental water.. and no fert ... nothing.. nada ... nil.. zero .. etc .. [except at planting of course]

the sand is so dry by mid july .. that it becomes nearly water repellent without the mulch ...

i think the key .. and i welcome correction or observation ... is that the roots need moisture.. but the rhizome want to basically be dry ... too much moisture.. and they tend to rot ...

am i spot on.. or way off base??

if spot on.. the issue is not so much the mulch.. but how it all works with your soil.. your drainage... and how it all coalesces in your garden ...

ken

here is a pic .. too bad they werent in bloom ...
Photobucket

o

• Posted by bari26 6 (Cape Cod) (My Page) on
    Mon, Jun 14, 10 at 10:20

Don Spoon, of Winterberry Gardens irises, once (or twice) told us that you could use Pine Bark mulch on iris beds (not too thick, though).... I do use it here on Cape Cod, but the soil is basically sand (I add a lot of top soil and Compost/Humus (sp?)), so the drainage is good.

o

I have the large pine bark nuggets mulch on my TB iris beds. It is the only place that I use them. They are too big for any of my other beds but are great for the iris.

Ken, your garden is lovely.

o