Return to the Iris Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
reblooming in zone 4

Posted by alyciaadamo 3/4 (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 15, 12 at 11:43

I just read that reblooming irises "DIE" in my zone 4? Does that mean they will not come back the following year? If this is so, I have some, what can I do to make sure they come back next year? I just bought and planted all my irses last year so I am a total newbie at this.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: reblooming in zone 4

No, they will not die. Your irises are safe!

Reblooming irises have bloom stalks more than once a season. In warm places like California, some irises bloom from March to November over and over again. Some bloom twice a season, in spring and in fall. Reblooming irises are marked as such- "re". I grow Total Recall and Recurring Dream, and they rebloom. It's a genetic trait. They can be killed in your climate when they try to put up bloom stalks in the fall and get cut down by cold weather. Try not to buy irises marked "re."

Regular non-reblooming tall bearded irises don't have that problem. They will store up energy all summer and fall and bloom again in the spring.

In both cases, the mother plant stops blooming, but produces baby rhizomes that bloom the next spring. So technically it is not the same plant that blooms year after year, it is new plants that grow off of the original.
Renee

Here is a link that might be useful: REblooming Iris Society

o