Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zaphod42_gw

Intimidated by irises

zaphod42
12 years ago

Hi. I'm new to irises. I'd like to add a few to my cottage garden beds, but am not sure how to integrate them in the design. First, I'd like to go with the German Bearded variety. Second, do the leaves stay spikey and green all summer long, or do they turn brown and disappear like tulip leaves? The spikey look is structurally interesting and would be neat if they stayed like that through the summer season. Do you cut them back after blooming? If I plant one, how is the best way to space them? Plant all together or drop them in sporadically? Do they overtake space or are they a manageable accent plant? Sorry for so many questions - I'm just not that familiar with how to work with them. Thanks!

Comments (4)

• aseedisapromise
    12 years ago

Hi there,

The leaves will stay green all summer, they will look great with your other plants. The photo above is was taken last year about the middle of July. I don't cut the leaves back after they bloom, but I do remove the bloom stalks for looks. I don't cut the leaves back at all until very early spring, when I remove all the dead material. I have them planted with a lot of xeriscape perennials, and they do well there.

Check out hosenemesis' and other's posts where they have photos of iris planted with other perennials that bloom at the same time, or the blog below. When you get to the blog, be sure to scroll down to the blog entry for June 13th, "Irises In the Garden". I think results are better if you have some sort of plan to at least give a framework to what you are trying to accomplish. I use the iris to bloom while other plants are getting some size on before they bloom, and the iris are then the green leaves with an interesting form in the background later in the summer when my other plants are blooming.