Return to the Iris Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Iris Seed Pods and Seed pictures. Information?

Posted by dragonstone z8 NC (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 17, 11 at 13:42

Hello! This is my first year of finally having success in pollinating Iris. I kept trying for a few years but I think I finally figured out what it was that I was doing wrong - cue embarrassed face here.

I'm not sure if my seed pods are going right?

The pods are slowly turning white?

These seed pods are on a stalk that slumped over but I didn't remove them since I wasn't sure if the stalk was still 'functioning' even though it bent over.

These were staked up before a big storm came in and I didn't want anything to happen to them and they've been staked since.

I cross-pollinated two flower colors. Below are two pictures I took earlier when they were actively blooming:

I found a small seed pod that dried up and fell off one of the flower stalks. I pulled out the seeds but they looked like this:

They don't look anything like the seeds I've seen on Google. Are these seeds viable, do you think?

I unfortunately do not know the names of the Iris.

I guess with the seed pods seemingly turning white, I'm not sure if I'm still on track. I know they were cross-pollinated at least. Would you say that everything is hunky dory thus far? Is there anything I need to know?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Iris Seed Pods and Seed pictures. Information?

• Posted by chadinlg zone 9%3B Sunset 15 (My Page) on
    Fri, Jun 17, 11 at 19:13

Your pods are fine. As they dry they will get lighter and eventually start to crack open. If you don't want the seeds to fall out you can wrap the pod in a fine mesh, or keep checking them and harvest just as they start to open. The seeds will be smooth and pale brown at first but will dry dark and wrinkly like the ones in your picture. As long as they have some thickness to them I think they can sprout - nothing ventured...