Return to the Iris Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help with Iris ID, questions for weak stems and seed pods

Posted by Sherry99 6 (My Page) on
Tue, Jun 28, 11 at 19:52

Hi all,

I am a newbie to gardening and this is our first year in this house. We have this beautiful iris in the backyard, but I couldn't find its exact ID.

Two other questions I have are: 1) what should I do now when most of the iris stems are falling over (pic3)?

2) Should I do anything with the seed pods (pic4)?

Any suggestion will be highly appreciated!

Sherry

From Untitled Album

From Untitled Album

From Untitled Album

From Untitled Album

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help with Iris ID, questions for weak stems and seed pods

Iris sibirica "Caesars Brother"

o

Thanks a lot, aquawise!

o

A wonderful plant! You can cut off the seed pods.
Renee

o

I have a few siberian iris as well. I just cut the stems when they finish flowering. In the fall I cut the clumps back to 4 to 6 inches.

Sierra

o

Thank you, Renee and Sierra!

If I leave the seed pods on, will they just drop to the ground and probably generate new ones next year?

For cutting the stems, how much should I cut back now in the summer? Do I cut again to 4 to 6 inches in the fall?

o

I cut the stems as low down in the folliage as I can. It is the leaves that I cut down to 4 to 6 inches in late fall.

The seeds will fall to the ground, but no quarantee they will germinate. If they do germinate, the new plants may or may not look like the parent plant. Not sure how long it takes to get flowers on siberian iris from seed, but it could take a few years.

Sierra

o

Thanks again, Sierra!

I do have a few smaller siberian iris plants near this big group. I don't know whether they came from the seeds, though.

Probably I should have said weak "leaves" instead of stems in my original post. Should I do anything to the leaves that fell down? Will they invite pests and diseases?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

o