Return to the Iris Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
stolen irises

Posted by traceyc 9b Australia (My Page) on
Tue, Jun 17, 08 at 20:57

Hello all

I'm a newbie iris grower in Victoria, Australia. Last year an old guesthouse nearby was being demolished and it's gardens bulldozed flat. So I couldn't help myself and snuck out over several winter mornings and dug up everything I could - bulbs especially and clumps of bearded iris. I extended some of my garden beds and added them all in. The bulbs all bloomed but not the iris. Then I read that they wouldn't likely bloom the first year after division anyway.

Now its the first couple of weeks of winter and they are all blooming! They are a deep purple with white beard..very lovely. I'm thrilled they are blooming but surprised as it seems very early. I haven't seen iris blooming in other gardens nearby at this time. Could any of you experts tell me if this is normal or not and what I can expect in Spring/Summer. Will they bloom again? Should I cut them back at any time? Sorry for my ignorance but appreciate your replies!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: stolen irises

There is a common purple that blooms off season here also.

I would cut off dead foliage but not healthy --- it is feeding the rhizomes.

Sounds like you're hooked on iris :-)

o

There's a historic iris called Crimson King, a deep purple intermediate with a white beard, that blooms for me very early in spring & then again in late May or early June.

I guess it might bloom very late if it had been disturbed/transplanted & had missed or skipped its regular bloom time.

o

Thanks both for your replies. Yes irisgal, I'm getting completely hooked and am already eyeing my paddock for the possibility of new iris beds!!