Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
harryshoe

Maybe Triple Your Pleasure?

I was so pleased by the ample rebloom I got from Double Your Pleasure last October. In May we a got a great spring show.

Now I am thrilled to have multiple scapes appearing in July. What a great iris she is!

Comments (12)

• harryshoe zone6 eastern Pennsylvania
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I guess I'll post so this will go away. Yes, she is still blooming.

Original Author
    9 years ago

I was just weeding the garden and, believe it or not, bloom number three is beginning! The plant has been resting for less than three weeks.

As this is my first and only Bearded Iris, I have no knowledge of the likelihood of repeat. I thought Bearded Iris were normally once bloomers.

No. I don't do anything special. Pure dumb luck.

Could someone give me some background information on iris repeat bloom.

Thanks

Harry

• sandyslopes z5 n. UT
    9 years ago

No info, but I would love it if my iris would bloom again. Their pretty flowers seem to come and go so fast. I have a couple that are said to be rebloomers, but it hasn't happened yet. You are lucky!

• iris_gal
    9 years ago

'Double Your Pleasure' is listed as a rebloomer. Nice to hear it's repeating a 3rd time. Especially in your zone where many fall rebloomers are nipped by frost.

. . . . often dependent on geographic location, climatic conditions and gardening practices. (at Schreiner's site)

Rebloomers need more feedng and watering than non-rebloomers. Some are more reliable than others. This link has many.

Here is a link that might be useful: pics and info on rebloomers

Original Author
    9 years ago

Here it is October 2nd and this iris is still blooming continuously since mid August! I just noticed two new scapes emerging.