Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tttaniaaa

Can I plant iris in winter?

taniaa
16 years ago

Hi, I'm still quite new to gardening, and have never planted a bulb.

I noticed that iris bulbs are still available in the shops here, which lead me to think it must be ok to plant them in the middle of winter - I live in a warmish area of Australia. I had thought that bulbs got planted in autumn?

Also, how long do they normally take to start growing, and about how long to flowering? Thanks.

Comments (8)

• iris_gal
    16 years ago

If you are talking about Dutch iris bulbs, disregard this.

The last safe planting time for bearded iris rhizomes depends upon the low temps. 6 weeks before the first frost.

In my climate that means year round! Oops, last year we set a recorded by dipping into the 20's.

Beardeds usually show some signs of growth after 2 months, depending upon the rhizome, weather, etc. I never expect bloom the first year but am thrilled when it happens. Most of the order flowers the 2nd year with maybe a few waiting until 3rd year. Many factors.

• wmoores
    16 years ago

If your area of Australia is like southern California, I would think you could plant irises twelve months of the year, though you may have to wait a year for bloom. Irises do need a little chilling. I am talking TBs here.