graneep42

Iris borer

graneep42
15 years ago

What do I use to kill iris borer?

Comments (8)

• eloise_ca
    15 years ago

Sorry, I have no first hand experience with this topic, however, you can google 'iris borer' and get tons of information. Here is one website that hopefully will help you: www.irisgarden.org/pesticides.html

• graneep42
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thank you. Ended up at Garden Shield. They have a product that I am going to try.

• laurief_gw
    15 years ago

This time of year, borers can only be killed manually by digging the infected plants and cutting the borers out of the rzs. In very early spring, however, newly hatched borer larvae can be killed with imidacloprid. Imidacloprid is only affective against hatchlings. Once the borers have fed for a while and grown larger (as would be the case now), imidacloprid can no longer kill them.

Garden Shield will not kill borers. It might or might not repel borers from the plants, though I don't believe it would be effective in doing so once the borers are actually INSIDE the plants as they are now. Also, Garden Shield will leave the leaves on your irises badly spotted, and it requires reapplication after every rain or overhead watering.

Laurie

• graneep42
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks Laurie, So far that is what I have been doing. That is killing them manually. The Garden Shield was not a working website so that ended up with nothing anyway.
    Now I know nothing about pesticides so does imicacloprid go by any other name?
    I dug up one whole iris bed. Found 3 borers but tons of root rot but we have had a lot of rain the last 10 months.
    I think the comet helped with that.
    GraNeeP42

• grannymarsh
    15 years ago

Imidacloprid is an ingredient in lawn/garden grub control. Check out the bags of grub control for their list of what's in it. Some have it, some don't.

• graneep42
    Original Author
    15 years ago