Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lamiaceae

Best sources for bearded iris?

Lamiaceae
18 years ago

Hey everyone, just a quick question: in your experience, what are the best mail-order sources for bearded iris, in terms of customer service, rhizome health/size and selection?

Thanks,

James

Comments (6)

• irish_rose_grower
    18 years ago

James, I can't wait to hear. I'm new to Iris and wanting to start collecting myself.

And do we plant these the same time we plant fall bulbs like tulips and daffs?

• denise_z7
    18 years ago

The two excellent sources for the information you seek is first the American Iris Society webpage as they have a directory of commerical growers...second is once you know the name of the company check them out on the Garden Watchdog...

I am digging all the iris NOW and they will be planted ASAP..

Depends on the zone you live in as to when. Here zone 7 I have until late Sept or very very Oct...while in Michigan and zone 4 you should have them in the ground 4-6 weeks before first freeze.

Hope this answers all the questions, if not email me direct.

Denise

• njiris
    18 years ago

Thate are a lot of good sourcs for mail order iris, and if you read some of the posts here on that topic, you will find out what other people think of them.
    There are many commercial gardens.
    In my opinion:
    Schreiners has just about the largest rhizomes...at the hightest prices. Their selection is small, and they only offer a choice cream-of-the crop selection. You should get their catalog...its worth the 5.00 price even if you don't order.
    Superstition has a great historic selection, and many others ranging from modern prize winners to older. Their prices are mid range; service and quality are unsurpassed.
    BlueJ offers medium sized rhizomes at great prices; a good selection, really nice website with thousands of pictures, and excellent customer service.