Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kentstar_gw

Mulching Iris?

kentstar
15 years ago

Hi all! I live in NE Ohio zone 5b. I am new to irises. I just planted 8 mini tall bearded irises in my raised bed. The bed is well drained (about a foot high), good loamy soil.

My question is... Since I live in an area that gets very cold down to about 20's, 10's and maybe even sometimes singe digits, and plenty of snowfall, do I mulch the irises? I don't want them to be subjected to heaving of the ground in the late fall, winter, or early spring. I have heard that mulching iris is bad. Do I just leave the "necks" or rhizomes sticking out of the ground all winter?

Thanks from

one who needs an "Irises for Dummies" book lol

Comments (9)

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    15 years ago

No mulch! Since you have planted them this early, they should root in well before winter sets in. Irises that heave with the freeze and thaws are usually ones that have not gotten planted soon enough to get established.

I too am in 5b and use no mulch and they survive just fine. In fact, one season when I was a very bad iris mommy, I didn't get some rhizomes planted, and they survived the winter in a box on the carport. I then planted them the next spring and they were fine, though it took additional time for them to get established and bloom. I would not suggest overwintering them as I did.

Sue

• kentstar
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thankyou! I thought as much. I didn't mulch them. I do have other plants (perennials such as hosta and coral bells) planted next to them, but I will keep the mulch off of them as best I can.

• carlos42180
    15 years ago

Hi Kenstar,

Personally, I do use mulch, but I keep the mulch about two inches way from the rhizomes. I mainly use the mulch to help control the weeding and my Irises do well with. Just don't put any OVER the rhizome.