Return to the Iris Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Will any of the iris I plant now will bloom next spring?

Posted by fireballga GA 8 (My Page) on
Mon, Aug 25, 08 at 19:02

Hi everyone,

I'm new to growing iris, and have a few dozen rhizomes I've ordered that will be planted this week. I'm sure they won't all bloom, but is there any chance that I may see some of them flower next spring?

Thanks so much for your help!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Will any of the iris I plant now will bloom next spring?

Well ......................... I'll put it this way. If you get no bloom at all, order elsewhere.
If you get 50% bloom, hooray. If greater than that share your source and your soil!

o

LOL...thanks, iris_gal! That sounds reasonable to me. :-) If I see 50% bloom this spring, I will be ecstatic, that's for sure. I appreciate your reply!

o

Welcome to the iris forum. I agree that you should expect at least 50% bloom next Spring, if you plant them where they will get at least 6 hours sun. Where in Georgia are you? I'm in Warm Springs and have over 2000 (500 plus different). There are several iris clubs in Georgia - we would love having you in one of them. Marvin E.

o

Hi there,

I am about to plant the 19 rhizomes I ordered from Cooley's website and I have been wondering to myself about the success as well. I live in Washington DC so I have good old clay soil, which I amend with Bumper Crop anytime I plant something new. The website sells a "Spring and Fall combo" of fertilizers---one to apply in each season---but I am puzzled: NEITHER has the formulation which the planting instructions from the bulb shipment suggests to use! Should I assume that the ones they sell are sufficient, or should I also buy another (Anderson's is the only brand I can find with that specific nitrogen count)?

Sorry if I went off-topic; first time poster, be patient! : )

o