Return to the Iris Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help! Moldy Rhizomes!

Posted by TNY78 7a-East TN (My Page) on
Thu, Aug 22, 13 at 19:31

I'm a newbie iris grower and I received my order from Ross Road Iris last week...I opened the box and they looked wonderful...big and healthy! I didn't have time to deal with them until today and when I went out to the garage to get them, I noticed most had developed fuzzy green, black, and white mold on the leaves and roots (totally my fault for leaving them in my hot humid garage all week wrapped up). I know with daylilies I can soak them in water mixed with alittle bleach to kill any mold that develops on their roots, but I wasn't sure if I should do the same with the iris since they seem to be more water sensative and don't like getting too wet. What is your advice?

Tammy

Here's a couple of pictures of what's going on :(

photo 20130822_192704_zps65c03714.jpg

This one is about the worst with its big black mold puff on top :(
 photo 20130822_193003_zps14e52394.jpg

photo 20130822_192921_zpse81354a1.jpg

This post was edited by TNY78 on Thu, Aug 22, 13 at 22:29

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help! Moldy Rhizomes!

I would do the same for the iris. Just dip in a light bleach solution, maybe 10% bleach, try to wipe off as much mold as you can, then separate them out flat to dry well before you plant. Probably not even necessary for the bleach solution, but seems like a nice safeguard to me. Just be sure to get them dry before planting. They still look quite healthy, I've planted much worse looking rhizomes & they have done great.

o

• Posted by TNY78 7a-East TN (My Page) on
    Fri, Aug 23, 13 at 12:48

Thanks :) So do I soak them in the bleach solution for a few hours, or just dip them and take them right out?

Tammy

o

Dip. Then dry completely. Irises do not like to be moist- they need cool and dry, unlike daylilies.

You can trim down the tops a little bit to get rid of the mold. They should be fine.

Renee

o