Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deannatoby

Dutch iris--different dividing rules?

I've read the FAQ and searched the forum and haven't found info on dividing Dutch irises. I'm new to gardening, and I've read that Dutch irises have a different type of root than bearded. Because of that I'm not exactly sure about what to do.

I have some grown by the previous owner of our house that so clearly need to be divided it's almost sad. My question mainly involves dirt and trimming when I divide. Should I keep a healthy amount of dirt around the root when I transplant (which means no trimming), or should I knock off all the dirt and trim it? Do I trim the root the same way the FAQ says to trim a bearded iris?

Thank you for your help!

Comments (6)

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    14 years ago

I'm new to gardening, and I've read that Dutch irises have a different type of root than bearded.
    Yes, Dutch irises are bulbs and are planted differently than bearded iris rhizomes.

I have some grown by the previous owner of our house that so clearly need to be divided it's almost sad.
    Are you certain that they are Dutch? I cannot keep Dutch irises going here in my zone, though I have heard of others who have them even in your zone. Often when they are sold, they are listed for warmer zones than mine or yours.

Are you sure they maybe aren't Siberian iris?

Sue...chemocurl

Here is a link that might be useful: How to plant Dutch iris bulbs

• deanna in ME Barely zone 6a, more like 5b
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Wow. Now that I search, the Siberian and the Dutch look alike. My purple iris could be either! The foliage is long, thin, and still looks great, but I can't find any great pictures on the web of foliage because most of the pics focus on the flower. My foliage is also very mature, one clump being about 5' in diameter (yes, it certainly does need dividing).