Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tomnorthjersey

Help me plant my first Irises correctly.

TomNorthJersey
11 years ago

This is my first time planting Iris bulbs and I'd like to do it correctly. I just received some siberian iris bulbs in the mail today.

The bulbs are in plastic bags with what looks like mulch surrounding as packing.

So far I've found this article, which claims I should soak the roots and rhizomes overnight first. http://www.easytogrowbulbs.com/g-22-siberian-iris-planting-guide.aspx

and this youtube video that shows the mounding to get the roots to fan out in the hole.http://youtu.be/lYyDdS53l4c

I'm confused about a few things. Nothing else I read said anything about soaking them.

The video says that the roots/rhizomes should be about 1/3rd covered in soil. The article said the roots/rhizomes should be 1-1.5" below soil level. Another video I read indicates even the fans should be covered.

The bed is going to be mulched. Are there any concerns with regards to the mulch covering the rhizomes?

What about any soil amendments and fertilizers. The soil isn't that great in the area and I will be mixing in some composted manure to improve drainage. The only fertilizer I have on hand is Espoma Plant-Tone. Should I add some when planting?

I will be heading to my garden center later if I need anything else.

I appreciate any help you can give.

Comments (10)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    11 years ago

Are the roots fleshy and succulent? They should be and if so, I wouldn't soak them. If they are not fleshy and succulent, then good luck :-)