Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jt_gardener

New to the Site and to Irises!

jt_gardener
13 years ago

Hello everyone,

I am brand new to the site. First, I wanted to say hello to everyone. : ) I am also new to Irises.

A friend of mine in Dallas has been thinning out her Iris beds, and she sent me a box of tubers today that will bloom white Irises. I am soon to receive another box that will bloom yellow Irises. I have no idea what kinds these are, as she does not know herself. She told me they were already growing in the garden whence she bought her house 42 1/2 years ago! So, this is going to be something of an adventure for me on more than one level.

Unfortunately, my back yard gets virtually no sun, and my front garden gets relatively little sun, so I am pressed for a place to plant the tubers. I read on this website, however, that they will grow in large, deep containers, at least for a season or so. Therefore, I am planning to put the tubers in containers. Our winters here in north central Texas are relatively mild compared to the eastern and northern parts of the country. We get perhaps two or three snow falls a year, usually in January and February, so I am not particularly worried about relentlessly severe cold. I am a tiny bit concerned, however, about the soil I plan to use, or I should say reuse.