Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bellarosa009

Long's Iris Nursery in Colorado

bellarosa
18 years ago

Has anyone ever ordered from this nursery? Are they still in business? I'm new to irises and saw some that they carry.

Thanks.

Evelyn

Comments (14)

• windwhipped
    18 years ago

I have heard good things about them, but never ordered. You might want to post your question on the Rocky Mountain forum - lots of people from Colorado there.

• Grandpa7
    18 years ago

I have a sentimental feeling about Long's Gardens. I ordered my first iris from them when I was still in grammar school. Somehow, I got hold of a couple or dollars and ordered three. Two were LUCRETIA BORI and CHERRIO. I can't remember the other one.
    I would dearly love to have these iris growing in my garden again. Does anyone know where they could be obtained?
    To find out of they are still in business, which there wer a year or so ago, just enter Long's Gardens into your search engine.
    Vernon Johnson
    Mesena,Ga.

• thurston
    18 years ago

This is their website: http://www.longsgardens.com/homepage.html

but their catalog page hasn't been updated since 2001. Not a good sign.

Neil

• phantomfyre
    18 years ago

They have an ad in the October 2005 AIS Bulletin, but do not have their website listed in the ad. Perhaps they are having difficulties maintaining/updating the website. There is an email address: iris-info(at)longsgardens(dot)com (Replace (at) with @ and (dot) with .)

Hope this helps,
    Diana

• lilgreenfrog
    16 years ago

Hi, I know this is an old thread, but I wanted to mention that they are very much still in business; I just got my iris from them this year. They're not as big as they used to be, and the website isn't updated/has no photos. However, they certainly have a catalogue you can send for, and I believe they're still creating new cultivars (I got one called More Reign, a SDB that is a lovely dark purple/burgandy that I think is new this year).