Return to the Iris Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
No bloom on these ever! Can you help...

Posted by mtshasta_sis 06 N CA (My Page) on
Wed, Sep 3, 08 at 23:36

Hi I have not participated in a long time but I really value this web site and recommend it.
Out of over 400 TBI's For me, I mean never in 4, 5 or 6 years.....No bloom. (Northern Ca, Mountain 3700 ele. snows, but not that cold or for very long.)
Minasoda Mixed up Kid, (Your comment about it inspired me to write.)
Baboon Bottom
O So Very
Summer Time Beauty
Desert Passion
Spring Pleasure
English Cottage, only 2 years old
High Master
Abstract Art
Manhatten Hattie
Is there a connection among these I have no knowledge of. I do not have success with Niswonger's usually but Sunkist Delight is a fabulous favorite of mine and blooms well. Any thoughts I would appreciate. What about a winter mulch on ones I hate to eleminate, or bloom food?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: No bloom on these ever! Can you help...

So of the 400 these are the only failure-to-bloom?

Are they planted besides ones that do bloom?

The only one I've had is Baboon Bottom and it died its second year with no bloom ~~ luckily no others in that bed behaved like it did.

o

• Posted by laurief z3b northern MN (My Page) on
    Thu, Sep 4, 08 at 12:05

Try moving them to a different part of your garden. Sometimes just relocating them 20' away can make all the difference for some irises - a different microclimate, a little root disturbance - might be all it takes to trigger bloom.

Don't move English Cottage, though. If it's only been in place 2 yrs, give it another year or two to bloom where it is.

You can also find a whole list of potential causes of non-bloom in the FAQs (link at top of forum page).

Laurie

o

I don't have any experience with those you've listed. My only experiences with no bloom were caused by:
a) planted too deep or rhizomes covered by other plants
b) not enough water (we have perpetual drought here so MUST supplement water)