Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pinkkpearls

Dried out Rhizomes - Iris

pinkkpearls
9 years ago

I have a few Iris that are dried out from storing them that I want to plant. Do I just go ahead and put them in the ground? Some have a small tinge of green, but not much, mostly just dry and brittle fan - rhizome is super hard. I heard you have to soak them overnight? Is this true? Im in 8.

Comments (10)

• queen_gardener
    9 years ago

I am a beginner, but I've just stuffed them into the ground, and they're all alive. You could compromise - soak for an hour or two, then plant. I just looked at my instructions I received with my iris purchase from Gurney's, it says to plant right away, and they were dried out, and it says if you can't plant them right away, to open the bag, etc, but doesn't say you have to soak them if you make them wait. I'd try soaking for an hour and plant, keeping it watered even though it's cold. My instructions say to keep stuff watered in the fall and winter, as more bulbs are lost to under watering in the fall and winter than to freezing.
    Good luck!!!!
    Edited to add:
    I have bought and traded for iris from people from Craigslist, as well as this site, and if they are dried out, I just water them in really super well after planting, and I have been planting right away in most cases. I did have to heel stuff in for a while once, in a muddy, wet area, and that stuff did the best!!! Seemed to really like that. Iris are pretty hardy, I've been bungling around with them and they still love me.

This post was edited by Queen-Gardener on Fri, Oct 24, 14 at 10:40

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

a pic is worth a thousand words ...

the safest is to just plant them.. and let mother nature do her winter thing with them.. there is plenty of time.. for her to rehydrate them.. before the growing season ...