Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ginnypenny

fruit trees mixed with iris and daylillies?

ginnypenny
14 years ago

I live in East Texas (temps run from mid 30's to 105) on a sand hill. I have iris in rows and want to plant fruit trees in with them. Also have some daylillies. Anyone have suggestions, or suggestions on problems I might encounter? I'm new to iris growing...not even sure about when and how to feed, etc. Any help will be appreicated.

Comments (6)

• iris_gal
    14 years ago

If you're on sand I guess you're experienced at adding organic matter ~ every year. That's the biggest necessary job when gardening on sand. Have your iris been blooming ok?

Since iris are sun lovers make sure your fruit trees are planted far enuf apart to allow space between their mature branches ~~ to allow sunlight to hit the beds.

Fertilizing --- that is so variable. I also dig in fertilizer when doing a bed. I use bonemeal, bulb food, and superphosphate, depending on what I have available. I have heard an additional fertilizing 18 weeks before bloom is beneficial for a spectacular show. If you forget, sprinkle a low nitrogen fertilizer according to directions right after bloom.

• ginnypenny
    Original Author
    14 years ago

No, they have not been doing well. Several years ago, in North Texas, a man who had been raising irises let them go to rack and ruin. I dug them up and put them in my 1 acre small garden. Then I went on the road and also left them.

I've added mulch, fertilizer, etc when I was home...but that was only every four months or so. No one watered or did anything when I was gone. Now we are back full time and I want to do it right.

I don't know what I have, but they were big and healthy, now many are gone and what's left looks terrible. I spent the last five days pulling up the weeds and getting to see what is left.