Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lily_kay

Identify this iris?

Lily_Kay
10 years ago

Can anyone identify this iris? I purchased 5 acres that I have found out had an old log cabin. I rescued about 200 rhizomes from a shady area by a road where I imagine they had been abandoned for years. I'm sure they had been run over and mowed many times. I discovered them when I saw one bloom--this is the pic of it. In their new home, they all bloomed.

I have a second type of iris that was with these, but probably only about 5 of them. I will post that pic separately. I am in the very SW corner of VA.

Also, got lots of pods of seeds. Probably because I put in raised bed with mostly composted horse manure. Any advice on getting the seeds to germinate? I saw one place that said it may take 2 to 3 years. Yikes!

I am new to this iris business, but excited that my 200 rhizomes have been quite prolific. I am hoping to give many to friends and relatives as a way of sharing my new love. ( I grew up with irises, but am new to growing them myself.)

Comments (8)

• iris_gal
    10 years ago

This is a difficult color for cameras. To get a possible id you will need to take pictures of it, from different angles, as it unfurls its petals. Also measure the height from ground to top of the uppermost bloom. There is also the possibility it's not a named cultivar.

It is a very handsome Louisiana, probably from the 1960's.

Some that resemble yours
    Eolian - 42 inches, Arny'67
    Pegaletta - 36 inches, Holleyman'63
    Puttytat - Arny'68 (pic at daves garden)

less resemblance but who knows?
    Gabriel's Love - 35 inches, Haymon'88
    Jeri - 38 inches, Bertinot'84 (dark purple)
    New Dimensions - 31 inches, Taylor'89

http://www.louisianairis.com/categories.asp has changed their website so the pictures from May 2011 are not there (or I couldn't find them). But if you get a good picture of the opened flower they may be able to help.

• Lily_Kay
    Original Author
    10 years ago