Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
artemisiawormwood

Dutch irises sprouting in November

artemisiawormwood
12 years ago

My irises are sprouting in November .I believe that they are Dutch ones since they have bulbs .Not sure since i am total newbie when it comes to irises .Just noticed before one week that they have sprouted and the biggest sprouts are already 10 cm long .I am totaly puzzled with the situation .What shall i do now ?I live in United Kingdom (Manchester ) and we had two very cold winters .We had snow and ice for three months .So my guess is that snow is few weeks away .I am afraid i will loose them .How i do stop them to grow ?I do not have big greenhouse and they are planted just in big pot ,since i have container garden .Do not have growing lights or space where i can overwinter them inside .Any suggestion how i save the plants during winter ?

Comments (15)

• aquawise
    12 years ago

OMG! Mine are to!!! I put them in the greenhouse so they would not freeze. Guess you can bring them in ans put them in a sunny window!!??? Puzzles me as well.

• artemisiawormwood
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I have only small greenhouse which is for small pots ,they are planted in huge pot to drag it inside .I planted them in February and they started their growing season in March just to finish in August .In August all the folliage went brown and i then cut it back .And now they sprouted again .Same happened with lillies they died back in July and then sprouted again now they are blooming .Also my Magnolia Stelata is budding .What on the earth is going one with the plants ?They should have gone dormant not waking up for new season when the ice is matter of weeks .

• iris_gal
    12 years ago

Artesmia, you need to check your zone number against the recommended zones for Dutch iris. They may be able to winter over out of doors. Do your neighbors have them in their beds? Do you have a fireplace wall outside where it would stay warmer?