Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
widgetsmom

Moving iris

Beth1234
9 years ago

I have a large bed of Iris that I inherited. I have to move and want to take them with me since where I live is going to be developed. I'm new to this and don't want to kill them when I have to move. I had someone suggest I put them in pots since I'm not really sure where I will be planting them where I'm moving to. I started working on that today and quickly realized that I will end up having way to many pots of them. Most of the one's I started with today are very small, so I know that they are new. I have been getting rid of the old and withered pieces. I've only dug up a very small section and have filled up 3 large pots. I know I'm rambling, so I guess my question is can I store them somehow so that I can plant them in the spring?

Comments (11)

• iris_gal
    9 years ago

There's no guarantee but some people have forgotten rhizomes over the winter and had them sprout when spring planted. Use paper bags in a cool place. You may not have bloom for 2-3 years.

Are these the same or different colors? If there is an enlarged clump, attached to one another, so I know they are all the same, I'd squelch my inclinations and only pot 2, paper bagging the remainder of that clump.

You can always put "free iris for the digging" on Craig's List for those you don't want. Big job. Good luck.

• Nancy
    9 years ago

Large healthy rhizomes should be fine for a few months, rot will be your main concern. As iris gal said, store in a cool place. If you bag them don't put too many to a bag. I would actually try to spread them out rather than put them in a bag, if you have a large bag the ones in the middle might rot.

• Beth1234
    Original Author
    9 years ago