Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeb3669

dried up looking rhizomes?

jeb3669
16 years ago

I'm new to growing irises and have a question buying them. My local garden center is having a clearance on spring bulbs and a few iris. The iris look pretty dry. How can I tell if the iris are ok to buy? I have never bought iris (I was given some, but they were freshly dug up) and the ones I see in the garden centers always look like they are dead. Lowe's also had theirs on clearance but they looked even drier than the ones in the garden center.

Thanks

Comments (5)

• laurief_gw
    16 years ago

Don't waste your time and money on dried up rhizomes sold after season (like now). Wait until next summer, then order freshly dug rhizomes from commercial iris growers. You'll end up with MUCH more healthy plants.

Laurie

• kittyl
    16 years ago

Our club recently received some rhizomes dug in Sept. that were newer varieties. All the fans were brown and shriveled, some were small, but the rhizomes were firm/ok. We immediately potted them 2 weeks ago, and I left town for a week. WeÂve had a good frost when I got back, but in spite of that, I see that some are poking out some new green tips. I donÂt expect them to do much through the winter but maybe try to start some roots. However, I expect all of them to survive and IÂm sure theyÂll have a lot of green growth in the spring just not bloom until the following year. Our club members will have to wait a year for bloom, but otherwise theyÂll get some new varieties at little cost.
    I often tell people "itÂs hard to kill an iris", and a friend of mine adds to that saying "unless you pay $50.00 for it".
    So if you decide to get some discounted irises, be patient with the bloom, and perhaps consider getting some other irises next year as well. Consider your climate/zone, as northern states would not advise planting in winter, whereas here in Calif, our ground doesn't freeze solid.

• brobicho
    16 years ago