Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jerryattreezoo

Tropical/Subtropical Plant Selections

JerryatTreeZoo
18 years ago

It seems most people here are in temperate climates. Does anyone have any suggestions for plants and trees in the subtropics of South Florida? I have been to the wonderful Morikami Gardens in Delray Beach. They use lots of standard Florida landscape plants but in traditional Japanese styles. Are their any proscriptions from using very colorful plants or are white flowers prefered? I want to select species that would lend themselves to Japanese gardening but be a little unusual too.

Jerry

Comments (5)

• Jando_1
    18 years ago

Hi Jerry, I am no pro but I would say choose plants that have varied shades of green and use the foliage to play off each other. The Japanese Garden uses more plants for foliage than for the flowers. If you do have plants that flower try to plan so only one plant is in bloom at any given time.

Hope this helps.

Cheers Jando

• Jando_1
    18 years ago

Jerry a good friend reminded me that white flowers are avoided in Japanese Gardens because they represent death.

• yukio
    18 years ago

Jerry, the person who created the Morikami Garden is well versed in the use of plant material appropriate for Japanese gardens. He is from Japan and has installed gardens in temperate and tropical environments. If you know who he is go to his webiste otherwise drop me an email and I will email the web address to you.
    David

• castorp
    18 years ago

Jerry,

I love Morikami gardens. Whenever I go down to South Florida I try to stop by.

One thing I did not see at Morikami though was the use of Native Sand Pines (Pinus clausa) in place of the dwarfed pines normally used in Japanese Gardens.

The sand pine takes trimming very well. It was once used for Christmas trees, and kept trimmed into neat cones. You can trim them into big bonzai shapes. I haven't done it myself, but I saw of photograph of a beautiful sand pine trimmed this way.