Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dave_wa

Pine pruning books?

Dave_WA
20 years ago

Does anyone know of a book with detailed instructions on how to cloud prune a pine? I have an interesting Japanese black pine which I've been working on for a couple of years. I have a booklet from Plant Amnesty which is about 4 pages and describes some of the techniques used and this has helped me, but I wish there were something more detailed and comprehensive.

Comments (34)

• yama
    20 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Dave
    even you find a perfect pine tree pruning book, you need to practice.
    find a pine trees in vacant lot or buy any pine tree (s) you can make mistake. and a cotton glove cut 1/3 of glove's finger tip. Have a nice hand pruner and shear (a shear we use is look like flower arengement or bonsai shear but it is different from sonsai shear and flower arengement shear) each pruner and shear must have sheath and extra work velts to attach tools (and saw).

shear $ 80~ 120 pruner $50~ 60 , saw $40 belt $20 sheath for pruner without belt clip less than $10, sheath for hand shear $12~ 25. .............................mike

• edzard
    19 years ago

Dave..
    more detailed in what way? What details? In what way more comprehensable, what is there a need to comprehend?

--how does one describe a hue of 'greener' (or 'whiter') that is perhaps 1/16th of a standard CMK color, or describe differentiating levels of transpiration in alluding to "one being 'cooler' than the other"... these would be some of the points that need a common language for it to be written.. photo's don't do it, infra-red might, but who takes it to a jobsite?

this is not to say it can not be done, it is just difficult to describe timing sequences to balance growth or to cover 'all pine used', then into regions, by growth pattern, etc.
    it is just hard, without a specific question to place common knowledge/language into..
    any advice to offer, in attaining a good answer for you?