Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joenouveau

Moss Covered Bridge

joenouveau
18 years ago

Hi Everyone !..I'm entirely new to this Forum and to Japanese Gardening...so expect me to make mistakes and ask "obvious' questions...I'm a total NEWBIE !!!...

I saw a photo in a book once of a small garden bridge that was (purposely) entirely covered in a thick spongey moss...like a Scotch Moss or something like that.....suitable for walking on...(it appeared as if the bridge "magically" formed itself into an arch from the surrounding moss on either side of the water)...there was no visual evidence of the underlying bridge..the entire walkway as well as the SIDES were entirely covered in moss... The accompanying article said that it was a stone bridge planted with moss-- but also mentioned that the making of stone bridges was a mostly "lost" art form...