Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cferris26

dwarf japanese garden juniper

cferris26
18 years ago

I am extremely new to gardening and need help! I planted two of these junipers in front of the house in full sun. I am watering them about every other day, more or less depending on the soil. For some reason one of the plants' edges have all turned brown.The edges are dead looking, very brittle and falling off...the inside is still pretty green ...HELP what should i do? can i just cut off the edges? fertilize? i don't want the same thing to happen to the other one.

Comments (9)

• Cytania
    18 years ago

I've got this on one of my junipers so a quick Google brought up this;

http://www.gov.on.ca/OMAFRA/english/crops/facts/jundiebk.htm

I've already clipped out the dead section but I would recommend juniperus Repanda which is unaffected and seems most resistant to the droughty weather we have been having.

• winter_rose
    18 years ago

Any ideas where to buy horizontal juniper in Australia?

• Ron_B
    18 years ago

Here this is one of those plants that is produced in quantity out of state, is shipped in looking good, purchased and planted out - to soon blight off and dwindle away. Apparently the growers are using cultural methods that prevent problems that make it almost hopeless here. Blazing sunshine and perfect drainage may make it more reliable.

• edzard
    18 years ago

Did you break the rootball apart when you planted it? Junipers are dry sandy soil plants requiring rapid drainage and are mycorrhizae based, which conversely needs a temperature change of about 12 degrees to survive with high gaseous exchange. I would suspect that either not enough moisture got into the rootball or too much water has been applied.
    You could try puting a shade or frost blanket overtop for a while to retain the humidity, ease the high sun. Don't fertilize.

• Ron_B
    18 years ago