Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
monkeybutt8

shaping pines in japanese landscape

monkeybutt8
18 years ago

I am a super newbie to japanese gardens and I want to do it right. We moved into a new house and I am starting with a blank slate.

I found a plan in, "A Japanese touch to your garden" and it gives plant selections and locations to place these plants.

The plan calls for 7 jap. black pines. the book suggests buying smaller trees and planting them at an angle, then tying them to bamboo poles in an "S" shape removing branches on alternate sides to give the tree character. My question is, should this be done for all the pines or just the pines that are in the front and more visible?

Comments (24)

• Cytania
    18 years ago

I don't think all the pines should be set in identical 'S' trainings but the pines at the back should be shaped and pruned for good character otherwise the tops will start to dominate and they will become more vigorous than the others.

The bamboo trainers are not the only way the Japanese shape trees. Sometimes a simple rope pulls a tree in a desired direction (with padding around the trunk). Sometimes wiring achieves much of the effect. When you get your pines assess each one and choose the best for each position and tailor their pruning/training as they dictate. If by luck a tree already has a good kink at the bottom then simply prune to bring this out.

PS. I know the plan garden you mean and it's a really good one, exquisitely restrained choice of plants.

• Lee_ME
    18 years ago

Hi Monkeybutt --- I love your name :-)

There's a great saying in Japanese: "Even a monkey can fall from a tree" (meaning everyone makes mistakes). In Japanese it's "Saru mo ki kara ochiru." It's one of my favorite sayings.

There's another one "Saru no shiri warai" which translates as "to laugh at a monkey's butt" --- it means something like "the pot calling the kettle black" (because our butts look like monkey butts).