Return to the Japanese Gardens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Ornamental grasses to structure a garden

Posted by Arroyo z4b Taos NM (My Page) on
Fri, Sep 16, 05 at 1:23

Anyone know of examples of ornamental grasses (e.g. miscanthus sinensis cultivars) being used as the "bones" of a Japanese garden?

I'm just beginning. Using the drainage contours--small arroyos to structure the space. 3 bridges are in place. Cover cropping in the arroyos to build organic matter. Several OG planted as experiments in the adobe soil.

Thanks, Joel
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Ornamental grasses to structure a garden

Joel;

If you have not done so already pick up David Slawson's book "Secret Teachings in the Art of Japanese Gardens". IMHO, the best Western book on Japanese Garden design theory. Read, take notes, walk your garden, repeat as necessary.

To answer your question, I believe "yes, it can be done". If you want to make it formal, I have always thought that sage can be a good substitute for azalea in desert climates.

Look forward to investing in a lot of larger stones. "Dry landscaping" does not have to mean barren but in your case you might need to offset some green for hardscape.

If you are just beginning and have the beginner mindset, take a roadie to the Japanese Friendship Garden in Phoenix. Based on your initial post, I think you will find a lot of answers there.

Good luck, keep an open mind, spend more time outdoors finding those "things" that are the tenets of Japanese Gardens.

Michael

o

Miscanthus does appear in scrubby hill areas of Japan but that doesn't seem to be the kind of a landscape you are creating.

I'm sure miscanthus could be used, particulary as a substitute for ferns in the same way palms substitute for ferns in Okinawa gardens.