Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
notcooking

New to: gardenweb, midwest, japanese gardening

notcooking
18 years ago

Having just moved from Southern California to the Midwest, my tropical garden is a thing of the past. I would like to focus on Japanese influences in my suburban yard, but i really don't know how to get started. I am totally new to Japanese gardening. At this point, I am not interested in a formal Japanese garden, but want the serenity they lend. Are there any books you can recommend for a newcomer? I figure I will have lots of time this winter for learning and planning.

Comments (8)

• Floyd7
    18 years ago

Hello notcooking, two good starter books that I find useful are, A Japanese Touch For Your Garden from Kodansha International and Ortho's, All About Creating Japanese Gardens. If you are so inclined, a subscription to Roth's Journal of Japanese Gardening offers lots of tips and ideas that could be useful as well.

• Herb
    18 years ago

Notcooking - I agree with Floyd's recommendations. There's some useful advice here too - Click here to read it

• Archer55
    18 years ago

Yes, I agree with Floyd's recommendations too. If you only had $75 to spend, those three books would be an excellent investment:
    1. A Japanese Touch for your Garden
    2. Ortho's Creating Japanese Gardens
    3. The Journal of Japanese Gardening

If you had $100, I'd recommend that you also purchase "A Japanese Touch for your Home."

• Archer55
    18 years ago

I forgot to ask - Where do you live in the Midwest? In a previous life I spent some time in Akron. I have fond memories of the people but not the place.

• notcooking
    Original Author
    18 years ago

I am in the northwest suburbs of Chicago. Gonna be a long winter with no gardening.

• Cytania
    18 years ago