Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joshin_gw

Durability of Bamboo Fences

joshin
16 years ago

I am new to this forum. I am a Zen teacher and Zen Buddhist Priest living in Chicago. I am the Abbot of the Zen Community of Oak Park - Emtpy Sound Temple. I am in the process of designing my first Japanese Contemplative Garden for our temple, which is a beautiful old Victorian house in a residential neighborhood. So I am grateful there is a forum like this where I can learn more from other peoples' experiences.

I have already started to set a rock path which is working out very well.

But I was surprised to read on one of the posts here someone saying that bamboo generally only last 5 to 7 years. That seems like a very short time, for the cost involved. Many of the bamboo suppliers say it will last 20 years.

I have also ready others saying that after about 5 years time, it starts to look pretty tattered and funky.

So I'm trying to decide whether to put in a bamboo fence, which I find aesthetically very pleasing, or, perhaps, be more practical and put in a cedar fence, which is what everyone in our neighborhood here in Oak Park puts in.

My question is this - does any one here have actual experience with a bamboo fence of a longer duration than 5 or 7 years?

I would appreciate your feedback.

thankyou,

Robert Joshin Althouse

Comments (5)

• joefromsd
    16 years ago

You're right, bamboo fences don't hold up for very long, especially exposed to alot of heat and sunlight. People can coat all the canes, and even the tie cord with marine varnish, for UV protection (min. 3 coats), and that works very well, but you have to maintain it! You need to do a mildew wash, lightly sand and re-coat, every year!

Larger canes split more than smaller tighter canes, and you should always cut a vertical cane with a node at the top.