Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fallennobody

japanese ilex

fallennobody
9 years ago

I'm still learning about bonsai and i was wondering since Ive been fighting to get rid of these pests off my tree and when i finally did. it started to shrivel up. so i did what i saw before and watered it in hopes of it reviving and it's still shriveled up and looking just as sick as before. i got it from a bonsai vendor out here months ago (horrible choice to be honest) and now I'm hoping it's not time to say good bye to it especially since i even re-potted it due to the horrible cheap soil the guy used on it as well

Comments (9)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    9 years ago

Was there a question buried in there somewhere? What kind of pests and how did you treat them? And how was the Ilex repotted (what kind of soil)? How have you cared for it? How long have you had it?

Only some answers to these questions and a photo of the plant can determine if it is dead or dying.

• fallennobody
    Original Author
    9 years ago

i've had it for two months and i repotted it like i was suppose to in bonsai soil it was originally in normal potting soil. as for the pests i saw mealybugs and scale inscects on them and i used a homemade solution i saw from another bonsai site to get rid of them of water dish soap and rubbing alcohol and sprayed it onto the tree. the mealybugs i learned had burrowed and made a nest inside the tree recently and managed to get rid of them for good but after that it wont stop staying shriveled up like in the photo and looks spotty and dead already. i just scraped part of the bark and its brown in most areas but the base of the tree...do i give up on it or do i keep trying to save it?

• mikebotann
    9 years ago

Probably dead.
    I doubt you can grow a Japanese Illex in Wyoming, indoors or out.
    Have you grown bonsai before?
    You live in a beautiful state. I'm familiar with a lot of it.
    Mike

• fallennobody
    Original Author
    9 years ago