Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jollyboomer

Could anyone help me?

JollyBoomer
19 years ago

Im new to japanese gardening. Well all I have is a couple of bonsai's. I would like to know if there was any way/where I could obtain a cherry blossom sapling or seed (please correct me if that is impossible) and if it would be a suitable environmen here in florida in the U.S?

Comments (9)

• yukio
    19 years ago

JollyBoomer, what part of Florida? There is an okinawan cherry tree that grows and blooms in Hawaii. Sorry but I don't know the specie. david

• Gorfram
    19 years ago

Hi, JB!

I'm guessing that you might be in zone 9? I've linked below to an old thread on this forum about cherry trees in zone 9. [to find more cherry tree threads, go to the search box and search This Forum for "cherry"]

Cherries tend to take up a lot of space, and are not used in many smaller Japanese gardens because of this. They don't respond well to the hard pruning used to keep some other trees in check in small gardens.
    They also tend to grow with narrow branch angles that can make the tree vulnerable in high winds (does Florida ever get those? :) :) ;)
    [OTOH, I don't know what a cherry tree bonsai takes in terms of care, etc., but that might be an alternative for a small garden.]

If you're just getting started in J. gardening, it might be helpful for you to sees what your library has on the subject. Three books recommended for beginners are:
    Sunset's "Ideas for the Japanese Garden",
    Ortho's "Creating Japanese Gardens",
    and "A Japanese Touch for Your Garden", by K. Seike, M. Kudo, and D. Engel

Good luck, and enjoy your garden!
    - Evelyn

Here is a link that might be useful: Cherries in Zone 9

• yama
    19 years ago

Hi
    Evelyn.
    it is depend on variety of cherry. Yoshino, kanzan , higan
    chery will take large space, and many of cheree trees cannot prune much
    (large branchs to controle size.)