Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tony_c_gw

Japanese Garden, ideas and comments

Tony_C
19 years ago

I've been working on my Japanese Style Garden for a couple of years now and although I've tried to stay with appropriate shrubs and trees I'm concerned I'm not getting the "Japanese Look" I'm searching for. I realise it's still early ...

I'd really value and comments, ideas or observations, from those of you who might have been through this process.

Tony

Here is a link that might be useful: Tony's Garden

Comments (33)

• edzard
    19 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Tony,... you've done a great deal of work.
    - personally I would observe that trying for a 'style' garden is not in the same category as a Japanese garden you may be expecting of it. Observing that a Japanese garden is also a 'system' that incorporates architecture and gardening, along with compositional painting etc.

Is there a template or something that was being followed? What is the 'concept' of the garden? -many things in the composition ie: alignment of the tops of the shrubs do not relate to things I can relate to.
    What are 'appropriate shrubs and trees'? I ask since one uses whatever shrubs and trees that carry the reflective qualities one needs within the concept.

-mostly, i find that the garden has not been designed top down.
    -that the stonework + retaining walls do not relate to anything I have experience with in a Japanese setting.
    -Stones on path are regimented and not set into the ground, rather onto the ground.
    -the main view seems to be the bench, rather than a main feature such as the waterfall.
    -having said all this, the space lacks groundcover and background corrective tree material that tells me 'where/what, it is. (and why are all those trees staked???)