Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrnorth_gw

Please tell me how to make this pond better and more japanese!

MrNorth
19 years ago

HI all!

This is my first try at posting to this forum! I live in sweden, and in my town not many peopple know anything about japanese gardens. So, when I recently bought a house I decided to add a pond. After about 6 months, this is the result

http://www.odla.nu/album/data/mrnorth/full_1594_p21274.jpg

PLease give me tips on how I can add plants, change the edging and make this a better and more good looking pond!

thank you

HEnrik

Comments (44)

• Herb
    19 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Henrik,

The first step that I suggest is to amend the rock edging so that it looks less like a 'necklace'. I'd include some bigger rocks and have some of them projecting out into the water - perhaps somewhat like the lower picture -

Click here to see

• MrNorth
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thank you Herb!

Yes I know that the bigger the rocks, the better it looks. I had two problems when making this pond

1) I coundn't find bigger rocks.
    2) The few ones I found where too heavy ;)

Anyway, now I have found a rock pile in the forrest.. and with some friends I wil try to bring them to my garden ;)

But what do you think about the rest of the rocks? Will it look better if I push them down in the ground... then it will look less like a neckless I think. Do you understand? I will lower them into the ground so that only 1-2 cm is visible above the ground...

Let's talk about plants some other time ok... My first bother is the edge!!

thank you
    Henrik

• Gardener_KS
    19 years ago