Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
the_mohave__kid

Anyone learning Japanese In The Garden ?

The_Mohave__Kid
18 years ago

Does anyone have any info to share regarding good books .. computer programs or other techniques .. methods to learn japanese ?

Good Day ...

Comments (18)

• Lee_ME
    18 years ago

We just researched this for my friend. Check out the link for an excellent summary of the best tools. He chose the Pimsleur system because his main goal is to learn to speak. It's very impressive and I wish I'd had something like it when I was a beginner.

Lee

Here is a link that might be useful: Japanese language self-study tools

• The_Mohave__Kid
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks .. for your input.

Good Day ...

• patjonking
    18 years ago

I took a class at a community college that included grammer and things like that. It was of little use when I travelled in Japan. Since then I've tried to study more useful phrases that tourists need to know.

• kobold
    18 years ago

Professionals and tourists need the language on different level. BTW what is grammer you studied?

• Gardener_KS
    18 years ago

I used Pimsleur, along with the "Japanese for Busy People" series (books and audio). I also made it a point to learn everyday phrases and lots of nouns. I'm a long way from fluent at this point, but I can get along conversing with friends and traveling. I'd recommend those materials as helpful in learning basic conversational Japanese on your own. There are several helpful websites for learning written Japanese. One that helps learning hiragana and katakana is ChipChat. The link is below. Another book, one that starts you off with learning basic written Japanese, is "Interactive Japanese: An Interactive Course."

Here is a link that might be useful: Chip Chat

• Gardener_KS
    18 years ago

Sorry...that last title is "Interactive Japanese: An Introductory Course."

• inkognito
    18 years ago