Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mariac2013

what killed my fish?

Maria2013
9 years ago

Hello,
I've had a koi pond for several years, (about 2000gl with 10 to 15 fish) I'm no expert but I've managed to keep my fish alive through the years, with minimum loss over the winter (lost only 1 last year, none the 5year before last)

This year as the snow started melting I started losing fish ...one by one the largest (over 1') ones all died
I think I lost 7 or 8 , only 3 babies survived and I have no idea why
...is it because we had a super cold winter and at times it was impossible to keep the ice open for aeration?
Is it because there was substances in the snow that got plowed onto the pond?
Do you guys have any idea why I lost all the larger fish and not the babies?
I would like to understand what went wrong so that it never happen again
Thank you

Comments (6)

• Craigger7
    9 years ago

Hi Marie
    This winter has been one of the worst in 20 years. How deep is your pond? Also, you say you started losing your fish as the snow started melting. Does this mean that you seen the fish alive under the ice or at the time of fish lose there was no ice on the pond?
    Craig

• Maria2013
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Hello Craig, and thank you for answering my post

The deepest section of the pond is a little over 3' deep

The first fish we saw, appeared at the opening of the ice, it was the largest fish in the pond, it wasn't dead, it was just floating near the opening (we keep the ice open with a few air stones) , at that time there was snow covering the rest of the pond, we couldn't really see any other fish, but it was clear that there was something wrong with that one
    ....as the snow melted, we saw a couple more towards the top (they usually stay all together, at the bottom) but we could see the rest of them seemed ok as they occasionally passed by the clearing,