Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zolos_gw

newbie to koi ponds

zolos
15 years ago

Newbie here who would like do best set up for pond, possible future koi. We get very cold winters here and I would like to do a bottom drain (which seems recommended) and try to keep fish in pond overwinter. I am concerned with concrete cracking as drains are placed in concrete? I have read about heaters, floating warmers, keeping waterfall going in winter etc. but what about a place that gets 20 degrees below zero? I want to do right by the future residents of my pond and not screw this up.

If I have missed a post already like this, sorry and could you direct me there? There are so many conflicting recommendations that I don't know where to start. Thank you so much!!!! This forum is great.

Zolos

Comments (2)

• bbriggs
    15 years ago

If you are planning a liner pond there is little concern with the concrete cracking around the BD. The liner seals to the BD, the concrete is only there to stabilize the BD. The deeper you can make your pond the better for koi, particularly in a cold climate. It helps moderate the temperature and also gives the koi vertical space to swim.

In my case I chose to go 7' deep and to bury all the pipes. My pumps and skimmer are in an insulated below ground vault through which all the pipes pass and in which are all the necessary and convenience valves. I shut off one pump for winter but leave the skimmer running through the biofilter and back to the pond through multiple gravity returns. I use floating pool covers to help insulate in winter and depend on the open water in the running skimmer to serve as an open area for gas exchange. Better would be a frame and suspended cover, a greenhouse.