Return to the Koi Ponds Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
new pond design questions

Posted by pwf2412 6 (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 28, 14 at 19:34

I'm new to all of this but I have wanted a fish pond for several years and have decided to go forward with one. I am designing and researching everything I can, but I am running into problems and I hope people out there can give me suggestions.

first - bottom drain, everything says they are a must and I see why they are. but the water table in my yard is very high and I am afraid that the filter pit will just fill with water. is a bottom drain pump as effective? can it be?

second - my initial design is for a 20' x 10' x 4' pond. too ambitious for a beginner? should I go smaller.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: new pond design questions

Hi, welcome to the habit, er hobby..). Well let me address your second question first. There is a saying in ponding, "Build your last pond first". What this means is almost everyone usually builds to small at first and ends up expanding or building another pond. I still have my first pond which is 2000 gallons. I wasn't going to make the same mistake again, my new pond is 50,000 gallons.
Now to the second question. My first pond is a garden pond, no bottom drain, gravel bottom for aquatic plants. I usually drain this and clean this every 2 years. My large pond is a koi pond, no gravel and 2 bottom drains. Bottom drains help get rid of any settlement on the bottom and fish waste. Most koi enthusiast will say this is essential. I've been seeing a new technology in koi books of a system they put under gravel that acts like an under gravel filter. This is very new and if your lucky enough to find a contractor that knows about, I would look into that. It is a system of PVC pipes with small holes that is buried under the gravel.