Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lorraineale

Culling the Herd

lorraineal
17 years ago

I have a surplus of young shubunkins in my pond. I know I need to get rid of the majority of them to keep conditions livable for the rest. IÂve made inquires at the local feed stores, but they are not interested in buying any fish from a backyard grower. I'm sure I can give some of them away, but the rest will probably need to go to that big fish pond in the sky. My dilemma is that I am not good at killing anything bigger than a fly. Is there a quick and relatively painless (for both me and the little fishies) way to dispatch them?

And, by the way, I know IÂm a big wienie about things like this and if IÂd known they were going to breed so prolifically I might have done things differently. As it stands, IÂm trying to do the responsible thing in a humane manner.

Comments (9)

• fong_11
    17 years ago

you could let some neighbourhood cats at them...just kidding. but Clove Oil is a more humane way to get rid of them. it's a sedative for them and if you leave them in their long enough they will eventually die. I'm just not sure how long or how much to use.

but I'm pretty sure that if you wait little longer they pet shops will look into buying them, I'm doing the same with my koi, I went around and asked a couple stores and they agreed to buy some off me; when they get bigger that is. That or you could try and sell them on ebay.

• ccoombs1
    17 years ago

to sedate a fish, you would use 8 drops of clove oil to a gallon of water. To kill one humanly, use about 30 drops of clove oil. It doesnt mix with water well, so use an egg beater or wisk to mix it well. then add the fish and leave them alone for a while. They should be dead within 10 minutes or so. Just to be safe, give them 20 minutes, then transfer them to the freezer. If they are not already dead, they will be fully sedated and will not feel a thing.

• surfhead
    17 years ago