Return to the Garden Experiments Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Germination of Marrowfat Peas - Irish State Exams

Posted by gavind (My Page) on
Fri, Feb 17, 06 at 12:19

I need help. For my Junior Cert. Science exam, I have to carry out some experiments, one of which being:

A Gardener Suggests that the Lenght of Time Taken for Marrowfat Peas to Germinate is Decreased if they are Soaked in Water in Advanced. Carry Out a Quantitative Investigation of this Suggestion.

What I've got is I put groups of peas in a number of labelled test tubes, don't soak one group and soak the rest for different times at different temperatures and then see how long it takes to germinate. I'm afraid this mightn't be enough.

Any suggestions?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Germination of Marrowfat Peas - Irish State Exams

Im not sure that this post will be in time to help gavind out, but maybe it will be useful to the next person starting an experiment. By the way Im only a college grad, and just putting in my two cents along with what I remember from school myself. So here goes:

The first thing any serious experimenter/scientist should probably do is to take a moment to review what we called the Scientific Method. This is a list of 5 or so broad steps taken to design & carry out an experiment. I dont know if it has other names in other places, but Ill reference the relevant parts by name as I know them.

The Question--is what gavind outlined in his post--as proposed by some farmers that peas grow better when they have been soaked before planting. This is just a general statement of the topic under investigation or study.